User Tools

Site Tools


start

This is an old revision of the document!


Doherty Hotel

Built in 1924 by State Senator and Clare Mayor Alfred J. (A.J.) Doherty, the Doherty Hotel stands as a landmark at the crossroads of US-10 and US-127. It replaced the burned Hotel Calkins, opening with modern amenities like an Otis elevator and running water. It remains family-operated today.

Early Years and Prohibition (1920s–1930s)

1924: The four-story brick hotel officially opens with 60 rooms, built for over $60,000 to boost local tourism.

1930: Ten one-story tourist cabins are added next to the hotel.1930s: A traveling artist paints a whimsical, wall-wrapping leprechaun mural in exchange for room and board, creating the famous Leprechaun Lounge.

1938: Infamous Detroit Purple Gang associate Isaiah Leebove is shot and killed by his business partner in the hotel taproom.

start.1787258517.txt.gz · Last modified: by admin

Donate Powered by PHP Valid HTML5 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki